By AGRA Content Hub

A Nobel-winning mathematician, an extraordinary entrepreneur, an exceptional jazz improviser and an advocate for agricultural reform in Africa among the fourteen exceptional men and women celebrated.

Alain Bouchard, Emmanuelle Charpentier, Michel de la Chenelière,  The Honourable Irwin Cotler, Dame Ann Dowling, Paul Farmer,  Giuliana Elena Garzone, Michael Harris, Agnes Kalibata, John Michael Kosterlitz,  Margaret MacMillan, Pat Metheny, Charles Mulli, Alfred Sommer

These 14 men and women come from different continents, and have excelled in different fields. What unites this varied group is a dedication to improving the lives of others, whether through research, art, public service, or philanthropy. As McGill’s new graduates prepare to receive their diplomas at the Spring Convocation, the University is preparing to recognize the leadership of these 14 exceptional individuals, and their outstanding contributions to both their own fields and to society as a whole.

“The individuals we are honouring this year have all contributed significantly to their field, and are dedicated to improving lives and ensuring a positive impact on society,” said Professor Suzanne Fortier, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of McGill.  “I look forward to welcoming this inspiring group of honorary doctorate recipients to our campuses, and to including them as members of the Class of 2019.”

Honorary doctorates are McGill University’s highest honors. The degrees will be awarded during the Spring 2019 Convocation. Ceremonies begin on Tuesday May 28th, and will run through Friday May 31st, and June 3rd to 5th. The June 5th ceremonies will take place at the Macdonald campus; all others will be on the downtown campus.

Full list of the honorees and their full bios

Health Sciences – May 28 at 10 am
Alfred Sommer, Doctor of Science, honoris causa

School of Continuing Studies – May 28 at 6 pm
Giuliana Elena Garzone, Doctor of Letters, honoris causa

Engineering – May 29 at 10 am
Dame Ann Dowling, Doctor of Science, honoris causa

Music – May 29 at 3 pm
Pat Metheny, Doctor of Music, honoris causa

Management – May 30 at 10 am
Alain Bouchard, Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

Law – May 30 at 3 pm
The Honourable Irwin Cotler, Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

Science A – May 31 at 10 am
Emmanuelle Charpentier, Doctor of Science, honoris causa

Science B – May 31 at 3 pm
John Michael Kosterlitz, Doctor of Science, honoris causa

Arts A – June 3 at 10 am
Michael Harris, Doctor of Letters, honoris causa

Arts B – June 3 at 3 pm
Margaret MacMillan, Doctor of Letters, honoris causa

Arts C – June 4 at 10 am
Paul Farmer, Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

Education – June 4 at 3 pm
Michel de la Chenelière, Doctor of Letters, honoris causa

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences A – June 5 at 10 am
Agnes Kalibata, Doctor of Science, honoris causa

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences B – June 5 at 3 pm
Charles Mulli, Doctor of Science, honoris causa

Contact Information

Katherine Gombay
Media Relations Office
Office Phone: