AGRA's response to the COVID-19 pandemic Click Here

Governance & Leadership

Dr. Paul Greener

CEO, Africa Enterprise Challenge Fund (AECF)

Dr. Paul Greener is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Africa Enterprise Challenge Fund (AECF).

Prior to joining AECF, Paul was the Senior Specialist, Agricultural Productivity and Markets for the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, based at the Australian High Commission in Nairobi. In this capacity, he managed Australia’s contribution to the AECF and was a donor representative on the AECF Committee – the Fund’s governing body. He also acted on the Evaluation Steering Group of the AECF.

Paul was born and grew up in Zimbabwe before pursuing his studies in the UK, USA and Australia. He holds a PhD from the University of Queensland, with a thesis that explored decision making and innovation adoption by smallholder farmers in Sri Lanka, and an MS in International Agricultural Development from the University of California, Davis. He has more than 30 years of work experience in some 30 developing countries of Africa, Asia and the Pacific. Most of this has been in specialist roles related to agricultural productivity, rural livelihoods and access to financial services – with a particular interest in public-private-civil society partnerships and market-led approaches. He has held positions with the Australian aid program (AusAID) in Australia, Zimbabwe, Solomon Islands, South Africa and Kenya, with the Aga Khan Foundation in Geneva, with the Foundation for Development Cooperation in Australia, and as an independent consultant.

Blog Posts

AfDB President Adesina calls for technology transfer to farmers

Washington, D.C., US, 6 August 2018 – The President of the African Development Bank Group, Akinwumi Adesina, has made an urgent call to give farmers across the continent new technologies with the potential to transform agricultural production. Adesina said the technology transfer was needed immediately and that evidence from countries like Nigeria demonstrated that technology

First Winner of the Africa Food Prize Using Award Money to Support Rural Youth

In his speech accepting the Africa Food Prize in 2016, Dr. Kanayo F. Nwanze dedicated the Prize to Africa’s youth. “……with this prize, I pledge to continue to coach, mentor and inspire our younger generation in building a better and brighter future for this continent; our Africa,” said the then President of the International Fund

AGRA Board Member Mohohlo appointed Chancellor of the University of Botswana

President Mokgweetsi Masisi has, acting in accordance with Section 7 of the University of Botswana Act of 2008, appointed Linah Mohohlo as the Chancellor of the University of Botswana for a period of 5 years effective the 19th of July 2018 to 18 June 2023. Linah Mohohlo was the Governor of the Bank of Botswana


Josette Sheeran

Co-Chair, Finance & Human Resources Committee

Usha Barwale Zehr

Chair, Audit Committee

Judith Rodin

Chair, Nominations and Governance Committee

Joachim von Braun

Co-Chair, Programs Committee

Frank N. J. Braeken

Board Member

Rodger Voorhies

Co-Chair, Programs Committee

Adam Gerstenmier

Chief of Staff & Strategy

Dr Joe DeVries

Vice President, Program Development & Innovation

Sean de Cleene

Vice President, Business Development & Strategic Partnerships

Dr. Lindiwe Majele

Vice President Country Support,
Policy and Delivery

Paul Tikani

Chief Operating Officer

Victoria Sabula

General Counsel & Corporation Secretary

Lilian Nyang’aya

Chief Finance Officer

Boaz Keizire

Head of Policy and Advocacy

Elizabeth Chemengen Titoo

Director Human Resources

Fadel Ndiame

Regional Head, West Africa

Anne Mbaabu

Head of Markets and Harvest Management

Dr George Bigirwa

Regional Head, East and Southern Africa

Dr Richard Jones

Chief of Party, Scaling Seeds and Technologies Partnership (SSTP)

David Maingi

Head of Communications

Daudi Sumba

Head, Monitoring and Evaluation

Dr Paul Greener

CEO, Africa Enterprise Challenge Fund (AECF)

Hilary Tororey

Head of Internal Audit

Sylvester Kisonzo

Head of Information and
Communications Technology

Ignatius Mutula

Head of Grants

Caroline Njeru

Head of Procurement

John Wakiumu

Interim Head of Innovative Finance

Dr Rebbie Harawa

Head of Soil Fertility & Fertilizer Systems