AGRA@COP26

Elevating the voice of the African smallholder farmer in Glasgow

COP26, the major international climate summit, is being hosted in Glasgow 1 – 12 November 2021. The summit is widely considered to be a critical moment in the global efforts to tackle climate change and achieve net zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2050. COP26 is seen by governments, regulators, and businesses as a moment for countries and businesses to demonstrate how they are responding to the new levels of urgency, expectation and action on climate change.

Climate change is a global problem, but despite only contributing 4% of total emissions, Africa is experiencing a disproportionate level of impact. Extreme weather events are increasing across the continent. Climate change could wipe out 15% of Africa’s GDP by 2030. This could pull an additional 100 million people into extreme poverty by the end of the decade. If no action is taken, climate impacts will lead to overall crop yield reductions of up to 30% by 2050, while extreme weather events will result in higher post-harvest quality and quantity losses.

Africa can and must find climate positive solutions to its development challenges.  Its farmers must become productive, it must industrialize, it must bring power and water to people. COP26 must be a clarion call for the world to move away from business as usual and avert a climate disaster.

News & Press Releases

Agenda

13:00 PM (GMT)/
16:00 PM (EAT)

AFR100 Event

AFR100 (The African Forest Landscape Restoration Initiative) is a country-led effort to bring 100 million hectares of land in Africa into restoration by 2030

16:00 PM – 17:00 PM (GMT) /
19:00 PM – 20:00 PM (EAT)

AGRA, ICC, Climate Chamber COP26 Side event

Managing Tradeoffs between Climate Change Mitigation, Food Security and Landscape in Low Carbon Africa

13:00 PM -14:30 PM (GMT)/
16:00 PM – 15:30 PM (EAT)

Accelerating a just rural transition to sustainable agriculture for people, climate and nature

10:30 PM – 13:00 PM (GMT)/
13:30 PM – 16:00 PM (EAT)

Marrakech Net Zero event

No ‘Net Zero’ Without Nature: How committed are countries to transforming land and food systems?

Hosted by FOLU

10:30 AM -13:00 PM (GMT)/
13:30 PM – 16:00 PM (EAT)

Ministerial on Adaptation Action Event on Adaptation, Loss and Damage Day

15:00 PM -18:00 PM (GMT)/
18:00 PM – 21:00 PM (EAT)

High Level Ministerial Dialogue

Improving the scale and effectiveness of adaptation finance

14:00 PM – 15:00 PM (GMT)/
17:00 PM – 18:00 PM (EAT)

AGRA will be hosting a special TalkCorner as a side event of COP26 to spotlight the role of women in climate change mitigation and adaptation.

13:00 PM – 14:00 PM (GMT)/
16:00 PM – 17:00 (EAT)

AGRA & Devex

Building sustainable, nature-positive systems for smallholder farming

Social Media

AGRA’s media contact throughout COP26 is Rebecca Weaver – rweaver@agra.org. On-site in Glasgow is Andrew Cox – acox@agra.org. We’ll be tweeting @AGRAAlliance